Krisenmanagement

CRISIS MANAGEMENT

„Overcoming a crisis takes much more than communication“

Assessment – Communication – Management
In a modern world where transparency for its own sake seems to be the highest priority, food businesses must be prepared for crises, whether in relation to public product warnings and recalls, investigative media reports or corporate social responsibility. In order to master a crisis, a comprehensive understanding of risk assessment, crisis communication and management is needed.

We will help you, and in the event of a serious problem, we will support you and stand behind you around the clock. Before a crisis occurs we can assist you in protecting your business with a risk-based quality assurance plan, and if a crisis occurs we will provide the necessary evaluation afterwards. It is best not to wait until a crisis event to speak with us, but we are always ready.

Crisis Hotline: 0049-89-55 06 988-29
or krisen@meyerlegal.de

In a crisis situation, the following points are key:

1

Remain calm

Take time to breathe. Think first, then speak. No crisis was ever resolved with rash decisions. We are here to support you.

2

Risk assessment

We help you identify and characterise the danger, followed by an exposure assessment which provides the basis for a risk assessment, which in turn can be a decisive factor in determining the best path forward. Commonly affected products are foods (with for example residues from pesticides or contamination with salmonella or listeria), food contact materials (migration, such as in the case of mineral oil hydrocarbons), consumer products and toys. Since these crises cannot be overcome without a thorough knowledge of the problem at hand, our consultation model integrates technical expertise from our scientific cooperative partner meyer.science GmbH.

3

Communication

Communication is the deciding factor whenever information, transparency and credible solutions are needed. We work with you to help you take control of the message and ensure that the company becomes the source of information about the crisis. We coordinate effective communications with authorities, the media, customers, and stakeholders, as well as employees, taking an active role in shaping (at a minimum) the external perception of the crisis. On the other hand, in certain situations it may be the case that “silence is golden”. Crises are always newsworthy in that “bad news makes good news”. The extent of the crisis as perceived by consumers therefore depends not only on the actual or probable health- or fraud-related danger and its scope (regional, national, or even international), rather more significantly on its appearance in the media and in information spread by interest groups (NGOs).

Crisis

 

The word ‘crisis’ in the Chinese language is weiji (危机), consisting of wei (‘danger’) and ji (‘chance’). Therefore weiji is a situation that has become extremely difficult but nonetheless has potential for a positive outcome. Similarly, the Greek word ‘krisis’ does not describe a hopeless position but rather the climax of a dangerous incident, after which the situation can only get better.

As crisis managers we offer on-site advisory services for your business as well as process planning and crisis management implementation (e.g. in a product recall situation), including internal and external communication direction.

Crisis mastery can be learned. In advanced workshops using practice-oriented crisis drills, we show you how to find the safest path through dangerous terrain. We offer practical compact seminars in which we explain the most imperative steps to take. Note that crisis prevention is of the utmost importance. Many – if not all – crises can be avoided by seeking out a critical expert examination of one's products and methods as early as possible.

We look forward to your inquiry

Krisenmanagement

KRISENMANAGEMENT

„Krisen bewältigen ist weitaus mehr als kommunizieren“

Assessment - Kommunikation - Management
In unserer modernen Welt, in der Transparenz um ihrer selbst willen oberstes Gebot zu sein scheint, müssen sich Lebensmittelunternehmen mehr denn je "Krisen" stellen, ob im Zusammenhang mit öffentlichen (Produkt-) Warnungen und Rückrufen oder hinsichtlich Enthüllungsstories oder der Social Responsibility von Lebensmittelunternehmen. Krisen zu meistern verlangt ein umfassendes Verständnis von Risikoeinschätzung, Krisenkommunikation und -management, um nicht im Zustand des Bedrohlichen zu verharren.

Wir helfen Ihnen und stehen im Ernstfall rund um die Uhr hinter Ihnen und unterstützen Sie auch bereits im Vorfeld der Krisenvorbereitung und Prävention durch eine Risiko basierte QS und bei der Evaluation nach der Krise. Warten Sie deshalb nicht bis zur Krise, um mit uns zu sprechen.

Hotline in Krisenfällen: 0049-89-55 06 988-29
oder krisen@meyerlegal.de

Im Krisenfall stehen die folgenden Punkte im Fokus:

1

Ruhe bewahren

Nehmen Sie sich die Zeit um kurz durchzuatmen. Erst denken, dann reden. Mit unbedachtem Handeln wurde noch nie eine Krise bewältigt. Wir unterstützen Sie.

2

Risk Assessment

Wir helfen Ihnen die Gefahr(en) zu identifizieren und zu charakterisieren, gefolgt von einer Expositionsabschätzung, die letztendlich eine Risikoeinschätzung möglich macht, anhand der über die weitere Vorgehensweise entschieden werden kann. Häufig betroffene Produkte sind v.a. Lebensmittel (mit z.B. Rückständen von Pestiziden, Kontamination mit Salmonellen oder Listerien), Lebensmittelkontaktmaterialien (Migrationen wie der mit Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffe) sowie Konsumgüter und Spielzeug. Da ohne umfassende Kenntnisse über die jeweilige Problemlage Krisen nicht beherrschbar sind, integrieren wir gerade hier in unsere Beratung den Sachverstand unseres naturwissenschaftlichen Kooperationspartners meyer.science GmbH.

3

Kommunikation

Kommunikation ist das maßgebliche Modul, immer wenn Informationen, Transparenz und glaubwürdige Lösungen erwartet werden. Wir nehmen mit Ihnen gemeinsam die Kommunikation in die Hand, um möglichst selbst die Informationsquelle zu sein. Daher unterstützen wir Sie bei der Aufbereitung von Informationen und der Umsetzung der Kommunikation gegenüber Behörden, Medien, Kunden, Stakeholdern und auch Mitarbeitern. Gerade in der Krise gilt es, die Außenwahrnehmung (zumindest) mitzugestalten. Andererseits kann im Einzelfall auch gelten: "Schweigen ist Gold". Krisen haben stets Nachrichtenwert, "bad news are good news". Das für Verbraucher wahrnehmbare Ausmaß einer Krise hängt daher nicht nur von der tatsächlichen oder vermeintlichen (Gesundheits-/Täuschungs-) Gefahr und seiner Ausbreitung ab (lokal, regional, national oder gar international), sondern auch und vor allem von der Darstellung in den Medien und durch die Interessengruppen (NGOs).

Krise

 

"Krise" wird ins Chinesische übersetzt mit weiji, wobei sich dieses Wort aus "wei" (Deutsch "Gefahr") und "ji" ("Chance") zusammensetzt. "weiji" steht somit für eine Situation, die einen extrem schwierigen Punkt erreicht hat, aber auch die Wende zum Besseren enthalten kann. Auch das griechische Wort "krisis" bezeichnet nicht eine hoffnungslose Situation, sondern den Höhe- oder Wendepunkt in einer gefährlichen Lage, von dem aus es eigentlich nur noch besser werden kann.

Als Krisenmanager bieten wir auch vor-Ort-Beratung im Unternehmen, die Prozessplanung und -umsetzung des Krisenmanagements (wie bei Rückrufen) inklusive die umgehende Steuerung interner und externer Kommunikationsstränge.

Krisen zu meistern ist lernbar. Wir zeigen Ihnen in prägnanten Workshops und praxisorientierten Krisen-Übungen den sicheren Weg durch unsicheres Terrain. Wir bieten Ihnen hierzu ein praxisnahes Kompakt-Seminar an, mit must-do Anleitungen. Im Übrigen gilt natürlich: Krisenprävention ist oberstes Gebot. Durch eine frühzeitige Beratung und selbstkritische Überprüfung der eigenen Produkte sowie Arbeitsläufe können drohende – wenn auch nicht alle – Krisen vermieden werden.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage